Grampian Youth Orchestra June 2013

I’m just back from four days with the Grampian Youth Orchestra.
Three days of intensive sectional and tutti rehearsals in the leafy surroundings of Aberdeen University, then a fantastic concert in the Music Hall in Aberdeen city centre, one of the finest concert halls in the country.


Dvorak – Slavonic Dances number 1, 2 and 8
Bruch – Violin Concerto (with Jessica Coleman as soloist)
Tchaikovsky – Symphony number 4

… just a fabulous performance …  (Bruch)

The performance was lively and full of zest. I was impressed by the way in which changes of pace were smoothly handled and the large orchestra poured out Dvořák’s delicious melodies and exciting rhythms with admirable generosity.  

Alan Cooper